Everybody’s a Writer These Days

As (the two of you) who follow my blog know, I quit my job nearly a year ago. **Updates on that later** Since then, I’ve been working like a horse and doing as much research as possible about living the freelance life. I’ve subscribed to a bunch of blogs and websites that give tips about being a freelancing entrepreneur but here’s the thing… Nearly all of these resources give tips about writing careers. And while I’m okay with writer’s resources – I mean, the tips are pretty universal to business owners – that’s not my plan. But it seems like people who are telling others to quit their jobs and freelance are mainly suggesting writing gigs.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t consider switching tracks to a writing career – just to make a little cash until my producing takes off. And writing does happen to be my first love. But as much as I enjoy it – I don’t know that I have enough fire in my bones to make a go of it. Especially since the older I get, the more my opinions on things feel inconsequential. And this is not a tragic realization. If anything, it’s opened the door for my listening skills to glow up. Which, in turn, has stopped me from jumping to conclusions too quickly. Also, I really just don’t give a shit about things like I used to. And I’m totally okay with that. If anything, it feels refreshing. I have a better handle on what I should and shouldn’t waste my energy on. And in the rare instances where I feel strongly about something, I know that that’s REALLY how I feel and it’s not likely to change later.

I guess the big question is, would my state of “not-giving-a-shit-ness” affect how interesting my opinions are? What in the world could I be motivated to write about that would make people want to pay me to write stuff? If I start down this writing path, will it take up so much of my time that I won’t be able to pursue the things I really want career-wise? So many writing questions. And alas, I’m asking all of these questions on my blog, of all places. At this point, I think my solution will be to just write what’s on my mind in this here space and see where that takes me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

